I have a strong dislike towards school.

Why is it that finishing well is so difficult?

Maybe it’s not difficult for you, but for me, jeez! Sometimes it seems like I just can’t help throwing in the towel . . .

What?! You want to take us out for tapas and refrescos on Friday and get to know us more? I’m only going to be here for five more days, don’t you think its a little late business professor?

It’s Friday?! We have exams next week and I have to study, really?

I think it’s easy to chalk it up to senor-itis (not sure how to spell that), or the fact that I’m just super excited for the next phase of life to start, but what if it’s just pure laziness? I don’t feel like going out because I’m tired of talking Spanish. I don’t really want to study because I’m ready to be done with school and forget I ever took classes. Maybe it’s the fact that when you do things you don’t necessarily want to do, but realize it’s awhile until you finish with them, when the end eventually comes into view you remember “oh yeah, I didn’t want to do this in the first place, time to quit!”

I don’t know if that makes any sense, and I do need to defend my parents, they did an awesome job instilling good principles in all us girls, but I guess sometimes my sinfulness wins out . . . How lame does that sound?

So today I find myself in need of a pep-talk. Yes the end is in sight, but that doesn’t mean I quit now. Here’s what I’m thinking, what if all the christians said, “you know what God, I’ve done what I can for your Kingdom and I’m tired. I see that the end is coming soon (because you’ve said so) so I’m gonna live like I want now” (Oh wait I do that sometimes). Here’s a better example, what if God said that to us? “You know what, I’m tired of extending grace to you Jaklyn, looks like you’re on your own.” Not the most encouraging thought . . .

I need some good old fashioned perseverance and the nudge that reminds me that I’m not done yet! Just like God’s not done with me, thank goodness! So with that in mind I continue on!

These verses obviously apply to alot more that my lack of ending well, but it’s a good spiritual reminder and I like this translation,  . . . Hebrews 12: 1-3

Do you see what this means—all these pioneers who blazed the way, all these veterans cheering us on? It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running—and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed—that exhilarating finish in and with God—he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever (Insert laziness). And now he’s there, in the place of honor, right alongside God. When you find yourselves flagging in your faith, go over that story again, item by item, that long litany of hostility he plowed through. That will shoot adrenaline into your souls!

Here’s the rest of the photos from London . . . 🙂1.IMG_8032 2.IMG_8034 3.IMG_8037 4.IMG_8039 5.IMG_8041 7.IMG_8045 8.IMG_8048 9.IMG_8049 10.IMG_8054 11.IMG_8056 12.IMG_8058 13.IMG_8063 14.IMG_8067 15.IMG_8073

Christmas in London, absolutely love it! It really puts you in the mood.16.IMG_8086 17.IMG_8092 18.IMG_8097 19.IMG_8115 20.IMG_8127 21.IMG_8133

My face and pose can be interpreted as a mess-up or pure ecstasy . . . just between you and me, there were a ton of people in line, we felt a lot of pressure to go fast! 22.IMG_8159

Ohio State jerseys in London, the real kind (Grayson informed me), they’re a long way from home.23.IMG_8161

We overheard an onlooker say, “I wonder how green it was to cut down all those trees for their signs?” To that I say, I have not a clue . . .24.IMG_8175 25.IMG_8177 26.IMG_8180 27.IMG_8186 28.IMG_8193 30.IMG_8197

Just to clarify, this is the view from the London Bridge. London Bridge itself isn’t really anything to write home about.

32.IMG_8195

Well sorry for the long post, I’m done now.

As my dad would say, “keep on keeping on!” 🙂

3 thoughts on “I have a strong dislike towards school.

  1. John Cato says:

    On a practical note, future employers often care little about what you were studying, but rather are appreciative of the fact that you actually had the discipline to finish the course successfully.

  2. kristen says:

    2 weeks, girlie. count that ish down! i’m right there with you 🙂 i take my last final on the 20th. we.can.do.it. i’m rewarding myself for each day i complete until then. you should try it 🙂 also made myself a motivational, get through the end of the semester living room dance mix. i’m going to email you the playlist. give it a listen and try NOT to dance 🙂 xoxoxoxoxo

    p.s. platform 9and3/4?!?!?!!!!!! are you kidding me right now?!?!!!! omgoodness, jealous to the core when i saw that!! awe.some.

  3. melody says:

    Finishing is hard…even if its something you really like it’s hard to finish because you don’t want it to be over 🙂 I pray that you and Grayson will be able to “encourage each other” even though you both are weary. I know in the marathon I always thought that when I saw the finish line I surely would have a “kick” left just because I could see the end but when I rounded the last corner I felt like there was no way my legs/feet would keep going to cross the finish line. It was because Trav’s mom Tammy looked at me and said “there’s NO WAY we are gonna quit after coming this far” that I kept going 🙂 I was so glad that I was doing the race with someone by my side. I believe God has wired both of you to not give up easily and to try to do your best…those are traits that will help you through many times ahead where others would throw in the towel but I also know they can make it difficult because you don’t easily settle for being satisfied with something less than your very best. I pray that you will be able to finish with a sense of accomplishment for having stayed the course and completed your work! I am praying that you will find moments in the stress and weariness of studies/tests and projects where God specifically gives you something to smile at/ a realization of how He has used you in someones life there to be His light/ an understanding of what you have learned about Him and yourself because of your time there/ some laughter at something silly with Grayson/ and wonderful walks by beautiful things that refresh your soul and give you the strength to “keep on keeping on”. Can’t wait to see you in 11 DAYS!! Love you.

Leave a Reply

