Catedral de Santa María de la Sede

I don’t know what it is about cathedrals that I love so much. . .

maybe’s its the beauty or the pregnant silence filled with awe and wonder. Or maybe it’s the feeling I get every time I catch that first glimpse of the height of the ceiling, the detail and the care that I can only imagine the builders and artists took to create such a magnificent structure.

But I believe it’s more than that. I think it has to do with the fact that it is a place where every corner, crevice, and shadow reminds me of God. It seems like every time (I’m not exaggerating) I take that first step I am overwhelmed to tears with who God is.

I am hit with the truth of how BIG He is and how utterly small I am. How creative He is that He could make people who can create such beautiful things. How magnificent He is. How worthy and deserving of worship He is. How awe inspiring He is.

I agree that a church is just a building and that wherever God’s people meet that is were He comes, but something about churches of old, those tall imposing structures that exude an other worldly power and beauty, they never fail to get me thinking and reflecting. They never fail to humble me before God.

I have nothing against the modern church building with its multi-purpose rooms and at times its minimalist approach to art. There are so many things we are able to do with all that open space and without all those extremely expensive and breakable things “getting in the way.” I am just thankful that I have been able to step back into history and experience some of the intent of what the builders and artist were trying to get across.

With all that said . . . I’m hoping that at some point in your life you are able to visit a Cathedral (if of course you haven’t already).

These pictures don’t do it justice, but they are a good reminder for me. 

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Catedral de Santa María de la Sede

  1. melody says:

    Beautiful……….!

  2. melody says:

    I have wondered when I have been able to go in some in France and Switzerland about seeing them filled with people and what an actual service would be like if one was. Jim and I happened upon a service in one and actually took communion but the number of people was very, very small and it seemed very “cold/tradition/routine” for those there. I can’t imagine what it would be like to be in one filled with a lot of people who were actually there together with a true heart of worship, hearing all the pipes from the organ ringing through the structure and people singing.

  3. Jim Cato says:

    Amen to all of this!!

Leave a Reply

