Plaza de Toros

Watching bulls getting tortured with yards of red fabric, spears, and swords isn’t generally my preferred choice of entertainment, that being said, it is a cultural experience, and for only 12 euros I decided to go. Grayson on the other hand had already witnessed this bloody debacle and wasn’t up to reliving something he hates. His words, “I don’t think it’s good to go to something where I end up hoping and cheering for the humans to die.” So if you find that you yourself are an animal lover, this post probably isn’t for you.

There were six bulls being offered up for slaughter yesterday, each one larger in weight than the one before, I sat through three before I decided I’d seen enough of dying bulls and the cocky young men (my opinion) who killed them. It doesn’t mean much, but I heard they give the meat to the poor, I’d have to do more research to confirm that, but for now it makes me feel a little better . . .

This is the arena, it looks like the colosseum on the outside, but like a circus rink inside.

My ticket and program, we had really great seats, I was happy they weren’t in the sun. 

Just a little fanfare to kick everything off . . . 

This is the position he chose to “welcome” the bull into the arena, a little to confident in my opinion.

He’s getting ready to go in for the kill.

This is how he looked after the bull almost trampled on him (that was probably the most exciting thing that happened).

Walking around with the ear of the bull, the sign of triumph! 

VICTORY! ha . . .

The sign they use to introduce each bull.

A day in the life of a butcher, appetizing? not really.

This is a third of the pictures I took, but I was too lazy to go through them all and I’ll spare you all the gore!

One thought on “Plaza de Toros

  1. melodycato says:

    Wow…I am proud of you going to experience this significant part of the culture you are living in. I’m not sure I would be able to sit through it because of my love for animals but my curiosity wants to see every picture you took so don’t erase them before you get home 🙂 It would be very interesting to know exactly how they do distribute the meat!

Leave a Reply

